Clemson Tigers, Oklahoma Sooners, Georgia Bulldogs, Alabama Crimson Tide selected for College Football Playoff


Clemson, Oklahoma, and Georgia took care of business in their respective conference championship games on Saturday and received berths Sunday in the College Football Playoff.

Alabama was selected as the fourth team, over Ohio State.

The No. 1 Tigers will face the No. 4 Crimson Tide in the Allstate Sugar Bowl, and the No. 2 Sooners will play the No. 3 Bulldogs in the Rose Bowl Game Presented by Northwestern Mutual on Jan. 1, as announced Sunday by the CFP selection committee.

The semifinal winners will play for the national title on Jan. 8 in Atlanta.

Alabama (11-1) made the cut despite being idle Saturday and not winning the SEC title. Its lone loss was a 26-14 setback to Auburn in the Iron Bowl on Nov. 25.

The Buckeyes (11-2) held on to beat Wisconsin 27-21 in the Big Ten championship game, but it was not enough.

After a 38-3 blowout win over Miami, defending national champion Clemson (12-1) has now won three straight ACC titles and clinched the No. 1 spot in the playoff rankings for the second time in three years.

Oklahoma (12-1) overcame a stunning loss to Iowa State in October to win its third straight Big 12 title with a commanding 41-17 win over TCU.

Georgia (12-1) thrashed Auburn 28-7 in the SEC championship game, avenging its only loss of the season — an ugly 40-17 defeat at Auburn three weeks ago in which it was thoroughly dominated on both sides of the ball.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Conor McGregor says his next fight will be in the UFC
Chris Froome case handling is a scandal – Tony Martin
Jim Mallinder leaves Northampton Saints
Texas A&M-Commerce beats West Florida to win Division II football championship
Real Madrid cannot afford to overlook Gremio in Club World Cup with Clasico next

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *